Writing is my Quest

Once upon a time, I wrote a book.  Publishing would follow in time, and I would live happily ever after. But writing is not a fairy tale, it is an epic quest. Finishing a novel is only the beginning. The reluctant hero is just now learning how far he must go.

While I am waiting for agents to return my emails – some do, some do not – I am taking steps towards self-publishing. I bought AP Fuch’s How to Self-Publish Your Book, and read it, one short chapter at a time so that I would not be overwhelmed. There are ogres ahead. And dangerous ground. And a long, long way to go. But I have a map now.

I opened a twitter account and began connecting to other authors; seeing what they had to say. Talking to those who have travelled the road before me, learning of some safe havens along the way.

I registered a business name and a domain name and started a blog. I have a dull knife and a leather jerkin.

I am attending conventions. I ordered business cards. The friendly innkeeper knows I am looking for travelling companions.

I have taken on a freelance editor. Samantha Beiko is my first party member. She will be my healer and my guide.

I will need a cover artist to lead the attack; someone with shining armor and a strong shield arm.

A book designer; the wizard of the party, who will hang back, almost unnoticed, but make magic happen.

It’s a long way, but I’m tougher than I look. With help, I will get there.

Leave a Reply

