Opportunity Knocks

A wonderful new opportunity has come my way. Samantha Beiko, my freelance editor for Avians of Celadon, has always loved the book. Along with Chadwick Ginther, she hosts the ChiSeries readings in Winnipeg. She has invited me to join Kate Heartfield and Garry Thomas Morse to do a reading on Wednesday evening, July 8th. Come and see us at McNally Robinson Books at Grant Park at 7:00PM.

Okay, that takes care of the tweet and the blog post. Now all I have to do is pick a fifteen to twenty minute segment from Avians. Two or three short scenes should do it, and there are lots to choose from. I can narrow it down a bit if I stick to scenes from Raisa’s point of view. Yeah, focus on the protagonist. I should pick stuff near the beginning, to avoid spoilers. Nothing with too many characters, or it’ll come across like name soup. Some one-on-one conflicts, maybe. Oh, but something that shows off the planet Celadon would be nice. But not too technical, or I’ll have to explain about the place instead of telling an engaging story. The death rite’s gripping, but it’s too short. The punishment scenes are powerful, but they need a little prefacing, and then they’re too long. I like this part… wait, was that an adverb? On a speech tag? I can’t do that in front of other authors!

Maybe I’m overthinking this. Time out to calm down. It’s not procrastination, it’s preparation. Anyway, I’m excited, and it will be fun!

One thought on “Opportunity Knocks

  1. I think the death rite would be a great one to read if you’re doing several. It’s not too spoilery.

    I would suggest a scene that details all about the rendezvous with the airship to show some worldbuilding too – a scene that explains the world in the actual scene, so you don’t have to explain things before you start.

    20 mins is not actually very long to read – you only need 8-10 pages in standard manuscript format. You might be fine with the death rite scene for that matter.

Leave a Reply

