Timothy Gwyn Reads

A few weeks ago, Samantha Beiko invited me to do a reading at the Chi-Series Winnipeg with Kate Heartfield and Garry Morse. For a sense of completeness, I was tempted to read a short story, but Sam was gently pushing for an excerpt from Avians of Celadon. As I can still count the number of people who have read the whole unpublished novel on my fingers and toes, I was easily convinced to expose a roomful of new victims fans.

The event was Wednesday evening, July 8th, and we had about thirty people show up. A group of Kate Heartfield’s old classmates from her Winnipeg high school came, and some of my Manitoba author friends attended. Unfortunately, Garry Morse was unable to attend, so Chadwick Ginther, Samantha’s co-host, pinch-hit with a short story.

I chose three scenes from Avians, including one very intense death-rite. I emoted all over the place. Part of the blame credit for that goes to Antipodean SF, because I have narrated a handful of stories (one of mine, four by other authors) for their podcasts, and learned not to hold back. Robert J. Sawyer showed me that there can be more to a reading than an author standing behind a podium.

Photo courtesy of my brother

Hats off to everyone behind Chi-Series: Chi-Zine Publications’ Sandra Kasturi and Brett Savory; Winnipeg co-hosts Samantha Beiko and Chadwick Ginther; and McNally Robinson Books, who provided not only the venue, but much support (note the poster in the corner of the picture above.) I had a hoot!

Kate Heartfield read her short story “This is the Humming Hour,” which just came out in Daily Science Fiction. I also got her to autograph her piece in Hayden Trenholm’s anthology Blood & Water, which I purchased on the spot.

Oh, and special shout-outs to L.T. Getty for showing up from out of town, and Lindsay Kitson, who not only urged me to do that tearful scene, but brought friends to watch!

One thought on “Timothy Gwyn Reads

Leave a Reply

