Titanium Hiking Staff II

Back in March, I constructed a titanium hiking staff. Click here to see the original post. Basically, it’s a five foot length of 1″ titanium tubing from Online Metals, filled with survival equipment and first aid supplies and capped at the ends. I’ve put a lot of miles on it since then and I recently stripped it down to make some minor improvements.

On the end that hits the ground, it had a simple rubber cane tip from the drug store. Those wear out occasionally, and the last time that happened, I was a long way from the car. By the time I made it back, I had packed quite a lot of dirt into the end of the tube and soiled the triangle bandages. It was time for some maintenance.

20151215_165550

Adobe & Chocolate paints

Repaint: the original paint job was too dark. I had used a red oxide primer and chocolate acrylic for the graining. The faux wood grain looked vaguely like teak, but only in bright sunlight. Indoors, it just looked brown. I went looking for a lighter base coat and settled on this adobe colour. Only the primer changed; the chocolate acrylic used for the grain is the same, and so is the clear coat.

 

Repack: no need to change the contents, except to replace the soiled bandages with clean ones. Some later additions like the emergency whistle had been kind of jammed in, so I took the opportunity to stow them properly.

Regrip: when I originally frapped the grip area, the only cord I could find was  a rather random mix of colours, and rated for just 200 pounds. I had always wanted to use  paracord, so I ordered some three millimeter cord from Canada Paracord, rated at 425 pounds. A multicolored pattern shows the grime less, so I went with a camouflage pattern called Canadian Digital.

Recap: The first time around, I capped the ends with a 1″ rubber cane tip on the bottom and I made a wooden knob for the top that screws on to a broom handle thread, so it could be swapped out. Now I turned the whole staff over, so the threaded end and the metal band are on the bottom. The end has a smooth face to reduce wear on the rubber, and I backed up the tip’s thin steel disc with a loonie. That end is watertight even if the rubber gets perforated. I wanted to carry a spare cane tip, so I put a second one on top, and that’s the one you pull off to access the contents, starting with the first aid stuff. The rubber foot is not as pretty as the wooden knob, but if you fall on it, it won’t go in your eye.

Last time I did the faux wood finish with a nubbly rubber glove for a broad grain. This time I used a push-broom with stiff bristles and it turned out better, with a finer grain. It’ll pass for hardwood at first and second glance.

What’s inside?

  • Latex gloves, triangle bandages and safety pins.
  • First aid booklet, bandaids and aspirin.
  • Fire starter sticks, tinder, flint and steel.
  • A tiny compass. Titanium is non-magnetic.
  • Duct tape and an emergency whistle.
  • Fishing line, hooks and sinkers. Staff can be a crude pole.
  • Water purification tablets. The empty staff will hold 650mls.
  • A space blanket, orange on one side.

With all that inside, and about fifty feet of paracord wrapped around it, it weighs 1.1 kilos, or 2lbs, 8oz. Most people are surprised at how light it feels. Titanium is cool that way.

Leave a Reply

