Four Books I Recommend

A lot of writers do book reviews. I don’t. Life’s too short to slog through books I don’t enjoy, so I finish less than half of what I start, and it would be wrong to pan a book I didn’t even finish. Another reason is that sometimes I feel that an author has made mistakes. I make a note of those things for myself, but I don’t want to be the guy who points them out to other readers.

Having said that, I do like to recommend books. Here are four from my summer reading.

A Daughter of No Nation, by A.M. Dellamonica. I read this one because it was nominated for the Best English Novel Aurora. It won, and deserved to. Stormwrack is a fascinating alternative Age of Sail world with magic.  I was hooked from the first page, and I didn’t care that it was book two in a series.

Maddie Hatter and the Deadly Diamond, by Jayne Barnard. A Young Adult Novel Aurora nominee. It didn’t win, but it was so entertaining I looked forward to picking it up whenever I had time to read more. Clockwork and Steam combine in novel ways, and the style is light, easy to read, and sometimes tongue-in-cheek.

Updraft, by Fran Wilde. This one had to wait until I was done my Aurora reading, but I now add it to my beloved list of Sky-Fi. Humans fly on wings made of bone and silk. If I was pitching it, I’d say it’s Windhaven meets Divergent.

A Town Called Forget, by C.P. Hoff. I heard snippets of this at a book launch, and was amused. Not my regular style, but I can’t remember the last time I enjoyed reading something so different, so much. I laughed often. Take a look.

Each of these books was so much fun I wanted to thank the author. Next up, Arabella of Mars, because Age of Sail in Space. But if I don’t finish it, you’ll never hear a word.

 

Leave a Reply

