Prose & Cons: Can*Con 2016, Saturday

Saturday I had no scheduled commitments, so I was free to hit the dealer room, attend panels and chat in hallways. I started with Weird and Different Sensory Perceptions in Animals, moderated by Julie Czerneda. There were other panels I liked at the same time, but I chose the animal science one for the implications about aliens and their possible senses. Scientist/authors Agnes Cadieux, Madona Skaff, Max Turner and Nina Munteanu were all entertaining.

After that, I went to two fantasy reading sessions. Leah Bobet was paired up with K.V. Johansen. I wanted to meet Leah, because she was on the panel I was going to moderate on Sunday. Besides, her Inheritance of Ashes just won the YA Aurora, and I wanted to hear a little of it in the author’s voice. I found it very moving. After that, I stayed put for readings by Gabrielle Harbowy and Fanny Darling because I like them, and Lesley Donaldson, who I was curious about. Fun all around.

Then science again, a panel called The First Great Terraforming Project: Earth, moderated by Ed Willett, with panellists Alyx Dellamonica, Katrina Guy, Nina Munteanu and Alison Sinclair. I took a fine workshop with Nina last year, and I wanted to see Alyx because she won the English Novel Aurora for Daughter of No Nation, a book I very much enjoyed. The panel looked at how the Dust Bowl was a man-made disaster, and what we can learn about undoing that kind of damage. We can change things if we try.

Next up was the Daw author reading, the one with the raffle. Tanya Huff, Violette Malan, Julie Czernada and Ed Willett all share not only a publisher, but also an agent. Laugh-out-loud stories about their interactions with her. Also, swag! I won the last book package, a set of books in the Confederation Series by Tanya Huff, the Author Guest of Honour. It was a generous set: three hardcovers and a trade paperback. Good thing I brought a big half-empty suitcase.

Took a lunch break even though I had highlighted three panels in the next time slot. Sacrifices must be made. Also, I needed to take that heavy stack of books back to my room.

After lunch, back for some more readings. The Young Explorer’s Adventure Guide 2017 is the third in a series from Dreaming Robot, a press I approve of because a) they have good science fiction for young readers and b) they publish some of my friends. They were next on my list of places to query when I was offered a contract by Five Rivers. Angeline Woon went first, with a story from the 2016 book. I was fascinated, and thrilled to discover when I got home that my Kickstarter contribution gets me all three books in the series. Brandon Crilly is a long-time friend from Can*Con. We’ve shared anxious minutes as we waited to pitch the same publishers, and wished each other luck. He has a story coming in the 2017 Adventure Guide. Eric Choi, the convention’s Science Guest of Honour is in it too. He’s an aerospace engineer, and his story is about helicopter medevacs on Mars. I am eager to read the entire story because of my love of Alternative Aviation generally, and Sky-Fi in particular.

Squeezed in a quick RPG battle with Brandon, which I won by the skin of my teeth, then I stayed in the room as it turned over for Eric’s kaffeeklatsch. Science! We heard about his day job working with satellites, and I got to ask a question or two about Martian helicopter design, and we exchanged business cards because of our shared love of strange flying machines.

I started the evening with another Coffee Chat: How to Make an Anthology. Unfortunately, Gabrielle Harbowy wasn’t feeling well, and had to skip the session. Lucas Law filled in, joining Julie Czernada and Eric Choi. Lucas was a co-editor, with Susan Forest, of Strangers Among Us, which is generating very positive talk. Disclosure: I know several of the authors. I had no idea how anthologies were designed, so this session was pretty cool. The editors have a plan, and you should read an anthology from start to finish, in order.

Next I went to a panel on Authors Selling Books at Conventions moderated by Robin Riopelle. Jay Odjick colourfully illustrated the concept that the author is the brand, while the books are just the merchandise. Benoit Chartier had tips on how to evaluate different cons, and Pat Flewwelling talked about how the Myth Hawkers travelling bookstore offers a solution for indie authors and small presses that cannot miss everything else to staff a book table for three days.

Ended the day at the Can*Con party and talked about flying with fellow pilot Roger Czerneda. His father set the record for the longest non-stop flight in a plane with four piston engines: Hawaii to North Bay in an Argosy. The record will likely stand, because they don’t make planes like that any more. My uncle Leonard flew a Supermarine Walrus in the years leading up to World War Two. They don’t make planes like that any more, either.

 

2 thoughts on “Prose & Cons: Can*Con 2016, Saturday

Leave a Reply

