Audio

When I do readings, I like to keep them short. “Always leave them wanting more,” is good advice, especially if you want to sell books.

But right now, I’m challenged in the More Department. Avians doesn’t come out until August, so I don’t have a book to put in your hands. The cover art won’t be finished for another month or two, so I can’t have a poster. What’s an author to do?

Multiple short readings, that’s what. I’m going to do a series of readings from the first chapter of Avians and post them here as MP3 files. That meant upgrading my WordPress account to allow audio files, but as a bonus, ads are gone.

I’ve been meaning to do this for weeks, but I caught a cold, and my radio announcer voice headed down into James Earl Jones territory. Fun for Darth Vader impressions, but not really me.

My voice is recovering now, so today’s the day to make a start. I’ve begun with the BLURB. Check out the new Avians Audio heading at the right side of this blog page. Readings of PLANS, PICNIC, and FLIGHT, the three scenes that comprise Chapter One will follow, at intervals. PLANS is the scene I usually read at conventions, so when I post PICNIC and FLIGHT there will be something new for anyone who wants to hear more. If you’d like to be notified when I post new readings, rather than checking back every now and then, you could take advantage of the new [Follow] button.

Leave a Reply

