Author Copies

A box arrived in the mail the other day. Now, any day I get a parcel is a good day, but this box was especially fine because it contained books. My books.

I have to say, it feels special to actually pick Avians up and hold it.

The Five Rivers team lavished attention on this book, and it shows in every detail.

Cover artist Ann Crowe did more than the cover illustration you see here. Read what Ann had to say about her artwork for Avians at this page on the Five Rivers Publishing website, and see some of her preliminary sketches there too, including some I never saw. One of her alternative proposals that I did see was a character sketch of Raven and Mel that I loved, and a finished version of that graces the book’s title page. She also drew a little sketch of a glider and an airship for each chapter title, a beautiful touch.

Art Director Jeff Minkevics and book designer Érik Desmarais teamed up on a lovely title font, so between them, the book looks splendid inside and out. Érik even found time to fix a missing title that was my fault, and he has my gratitude for using my own little glider graphics as scene dividers. Jeff borrowed one of those three glider silhouettes I drew for Érik and put it to use on the back cover, so you can see it in the photo above.

In addition to all the work he did last year, Senior Editor Robert Runté smoothed over some last-minute hiccups: a sentence that got broken late in the setup, for instance, and a baffling one that we had somehow overlooked all along.

I can’t begin to imagine all the things publisher Lorina Stephens does, but I do know she was patient with my frequent anxiety attacks.

The end result of all this teamwork is close to miraculous. My beta manuscript was a stack of paper in a ring binder. Working with a responsive team at a small press has produced a finished product with some details that are amazingly close to my personal vision, but with an overall harmony that I could never have imagined. I couldn’t be prouder.

Avians is available for pre-order now, through Five Rivers and major online booksellers like Kobo, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble. Release is scheduled for August 1st, and it will be available in your favourite e-book format, or as the beautiful trade paperback you see above.

 

 

Leave a Reply

