Keycon 34: Saturday

On Saturday, I had a light schedule, with just one presentation in the morning. This is the first time I’ve gone to a convention as part of a team. Three of us from one critique group worked at supporting each other. I did my slideshow on Alternative Aviation in SF, with Lindsay Kitson’s help on the projector and Daria Patrie looking after details of giving away a signed copy of my book.

There’s no need to go into the content of my presentation in this post, the online version is available as a page on this blog.  Despite ensuring in advance that I had the right cable for the job, my tablet would not send anything to the projector, so we had to run the pictures from a USB stick. A couple of images didn’t display, but nothing that did real harm to the talk, and it was quicker than setting up my spare projector. (I’m a pilot. I have a backup plan for everything. I had three USB sticks.) Audience participation was good.

After that, I was free to wander around the convention. I ran into my nephew Keith and his family, and otherwise tried to follow Lindsay and Daria’s panels. Then I heard another presenter needed a projector, so I headed up to the admin suite to see if I could help. Of course, the cable I had didn’t work for his laptop, so he went to the hotel’s concierge, and they got him set up.

While I was doing that, I missed my friends’ panels on self editing, so I showed up in the boardroom for Daria’s panel on poetry in SF. Her co-presenter was MC (Matt) Joudrey, and he opened my eyes to some of the poetry hidden in speculative fiction. Example: “One Ring to Rule Them All.” Daria brought some works by some of her favourite poets in the genre. Whose names I should have written down, I now realize.

In the afternoon, I took in a couple more panels, one on Myth & Legend, and one on Point of View that tightened up my understanding of the different third person forms. Said hi to Melinda Friesen, because we would be doing readings on Sunday, along with Sherry Peters.

I ran into some friends in the Dealer room. One offered to review Avians, and when I pulled one of my author copies from my bag to sign, startled me by insisting on paying for it. Later, at supper with my wife and a friend, it was pointed out to me that this was the first sale of one of my books. Toasted that with a sense of wonder.

 

Leave a Reply

